Our Governors take responsibility for the strategic direction of the school and school policy. The Full Governing Body meets at least four times a year and additionally operates with two committees, each of which meets at least three times a year. These are:

  • Teaching, Learning and Leadership
  • Finance & Personnel
  • Premises

Our Governors come from a range of backgrounds: parents, staff, the local authority and the wider community in Newbridge. Together, they take decisions on school policies, where money is spent, what is taught, and where the school is aiming to go. Their focus is on standards and they repeatedly ask: "Are we doing the best we can for our children?"  They also get involved in recruiting new staff, and act as critical friends to the Head Teacher and the School Leadership Team.

If you have a concern that touches on the day-to-day life of the school, or an issue that is affecting your child, you should speak to your child’s teacher. Alternatively you could speak to your child’s Phase Leader,[View Staff List] the Deputy Head, Jacky Hansard, or the Head Teacher, Gill Kennaugh.

We are increasingly publishing school policies on our website and any that are not online are available for you to access in hard copy, just ask at the School Office. Should you wish to contact the Governors you may write to them via the School Office or you could email them: NPSGovernors@newbridge.bathnes.sch.uk

Anyone with an interest in the school can become a Governor -  there are no special qualifications. If you would like to know more, please contact the School Office or The Clerk of Governors, Amy Osborn (email: click here).

The current Board of Governors and their particular areas of involvement are as follows:

Sarah Evans Chair of Governors
Mark Brownlee Vice-Chair of Governors

Teaching, Learning and Leadership

Sarah Evans Chair
Gill Kennaugh Head Teacher
Jacky Hansard Deputy Head/ Associated Member
Michael Farrier Co-opted Governor
Alex Bacon Staff Governor
Jo Blair Co-opted Governor
Debbie Gibbs Co-opted Governor
Guy Whiting Co-opted Governor

Finance and Personnel Committee

Eric Lucas Chair
Sarah Evans Vice Chair
Gill Kennaugh Head Teacher
Jacky Hansard Deputy Head/Associate Governor
Guy Whiting Co-opted Governor
Joe Cripps Co-opted Governor

Premises Committee

Rupert Taylor Chair
Eric Lucas Co-opted Governor
Mark Brownlee Co-opted Governor
Clare Moon Co-opted Governor
Gill Kennaugh Head Teacher
Jacky Hansard Deputy Head/ Associate Governor


Business Interest

Financial Interest

Governance Roles In Other Schools

Eric Lucas N/A N/A N/A
Sarah Evans N/A N/A N/A
Gill Kennaugh N/A N/A N/A
Jacky Hansard N/A N/A N/A
Clare Moon N/A N/A N/A
Rupert Taylor N/A N/A N/A
Mark Brownlee N/A N/A N/A
Guy Whiting N/A N/A N/A
Amy Osborn N/A N/A N/A
Debbie Gibbs N/A N/A N/A
Jo Blair N/A N/A N/A
Alex Bacon N/A N/A N/A


© Copyright 2020–2024 Newbridge Primary School

School & College Websites by Schudio